SEPTEMBER behind the wheel schedule will post August 27 at noon.
We have 120 days by state law Title 55 to drive your student. We understand that with school, family time, jobs, and extra curricular activities scheduling can be difficult.We can not predict everyones schedules. We try to offer drives at unique times to accomidate those students. Some students aren't ready to do their behind the wheel with in that 120 days. We will work with both parents and students to come up with a customized plan for your student to be successful young driver.
COVID 19 and weather can delaying drive times and scheduling classes. Please be patient.
The office is closed and only seeing clients by appt. only.We are trying to keep our staff healthy in order to serve your student. If you need to communicate with us email is the quickest and fastest method.
Temporary Instruction Permit
Driving School Notification
The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) will implement the Temporary Instructional Permit (TIP) effective 09/04/2018.
A TIP is a class "E" credential that will indicate "Temporary Instruction Permit" in the header. All students enrolled in a driver education or pre-licensing course on or after the effective date must present a TIP. In addition, the student must have the TIP in their possession when operating a motor vehicle during the behind the wheel portion of instruction and when accompanied by a licensed driver education instructor or during the administration of a road skills test.
A copy of the TIP must be maintained in the students file. The issue date of the TIP, enrollment date and instruction date will all be verified for compliance.
As all Office of Motor Vehicles identification requirements apply to the TIP, it will no longer be necessary to maintain copies of birth certificates, social security cards, etc. This will only be necessary if there is not a clear connection of the domiciliary parent to the student.
Upon completion of driver's education, the TIP will be surrendered to OMV along with proof of completion of the appropriate driver's education course and any other necessary documents. There is no additional cost to convert from the TIP to a Learner's Permit for a minor.
Additional information is found in Act 317 of the 2016 regular legislative session.
This comprehensive driver's education course is designed to provide students with a foundation of knowledge regarding the rules of the road, LA state driving laws, and the values involved in operating a motor vehicle in a safe and defensive manner. The 38-hour course includes 30 hours of classroom instruction, the OMV written exam and 8 hours of one-on-one behind-the-wheel driving time. Students who successfully complete this course will be able to receive a Louisiana Drivers Permit, and will be prepared for the future driving portion of the OMV driver's license exam.
The behind-the-wheel portion of the class includes, but is not limited to, orientation to the car, basic driving procedures, turning the car around, parking the car, driving in reverse, driving on the highway, residential practice driving and driving on the interstate.
Jonescreek location. Student must have a TIP to start class
Due to limited classroom spots left at our Jones Creek location you can take the four day class at Ascension location and still drive out of Jones Creek location. If there is a cancelation the student can be moved.
*** COVID 19 is still delaying drive times and scheduling classes. Please be patient. The office is closed and only seeing clients by appt. only. If you need to communicate with us email is the quickest and fastest method. ****